chickens

Belle escapes

So the other evening I went out to do the usual evening chores whilst J put C to bed. I walked up to the chicken pen and turned off the electric fence before remembering that I’d forgotten to turn on the tap for the hose in the field. I popped back to the cottage to turn it on and by the time I got back I discovered that one of the girls had taken advantage of my absence. Belle had somehow made her way outside of the fence, I presume that she had flown over. Now as J was inside still I had the job of getting our least friendly chicken back into the pen.


I kept lifting up the fencing to try and encourage her to creep under but instead she kept moving further away. Finally, thankfully, she saw sense and rushed past me into her pen. Hopefully she won’t brave trying to escape again!

One thought on “Belle escapes

  1. Almost exact same experience this week with one of our chicks. It fluttered out of the brooder while I had the lid off and was refilling their water. Luckily, she was happy with some gently coaxing to return to her peeps. Never had this problem with our fat and slow ducks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

