Life in the Countryside

Gardening magazines

Now I know that in the days of modern technology we can find out so much about of gardens from the Internet, but there is just something nice about a gardening magazine. Both J and I subscribe to different magazines, although I am by far the more avid reader of them (J had meant to cancel his subscription but forgot so it auto renewed). J has Gardeners’ World as he is a huge fan of the show (we both are actually, it is our secret Friday night pleasure) and his garden interest of choice is more flowers and general garden design. I, however, am more excited about growing fruit and vegetables as I like the idea of knowing where our food comes from and I feel our garden should be useful as well as aesthetically pleasing. So I subscribe to Grow Your Own magazine. I have to say the thrill when it arrives every month means that whatever evening plans I have generally go out the window so I can sit in my chair in the lounge and give it at least a good skim read.

Whilst I could go onto google and find out most of the information in the magazine, sometimes you don’t know what you need to know until you read it. An added bonus is the free seeds you tend to get most months. Whilst I have generally got a good idea of what I want to plant having some different free seeds means I can end up trying out new things I wouldn’t normally have done. It also means if something fails then I feel less annoyed than if I’d bought the seeds. And sometimes you get a nice surprise of a new variety which you end up falling in love with. There’s also something nice about having a hobby magazine with all the latest products and ideas and reviews in. Most of my friends have at best a passing interest in gardening and none have the eagerness that myself and J have. And although a monthly gardening magazine tends to cost more than the weekly gossip magazines that many of my peers seem to devour it seems so much better value as I continually refer back to them.

Leave a Reply

