Raised beds

Thinning seedlings

Yesterday I did my first thinning of the turnip seedlings. When I planted the seeds I did so rather thickly thinking that with my success rate of growing then I would be lucky to get any to sprout. However as luck would have it we have had a good number sprout and now they need to be thinned. Thinning just involves picking out seedlings to give the required gap between plants. C was very helpful in pulling out seedlings although needed some guidance about actually leaving some to grow. I will probably need to thin some more but it’s enough for a start to give the little turnips more room to grow. As an added bonus the thinned seedlings make a great treat for the chickens. The photo shows one row thinned and they other still to do.

IMG_0468

Leave a Reply

