Raised beds

Asparagus foliage 

So when I planted the asparagus I read that for the first year you are supposed to not cut the asparagus and let the foliage grow to build up strong roots. You may remember my debate at the time of our first spears appearing that I just couldn’t wait as I was desperate to try our first home grown asparagus with poached eggs. Well I’m glad I managed to resist as I can now see what asparagus foliage looks like. So what ends up happening as the asparagus is left to grow is that the tips which are so prized for their exquisite taste branch out so that the asparagus looks like miniature trees. So this is what asparagus being left to go to foliage looks like. It looks like every crown we planted has taken so hopefully we will have asparagus for years to come. 

Leave a Reply

