Raised beds

Pulling up the turnips

So unfortunately my excitement about planting turnips (and hence my sowing all the seeds at once) has come back to bite me squarely in the backside. For now all of my turnips are ready to harvest. At the same time. Unfortunately turnips aren’t the type of crop you can leave in the ground until ready as if they keep growing they end up rather woody and unpleasant to eat. So we have had to pick them. We’d already had about half a dozen picked the other week for when we had some friends come round for dinner. And have picked another 30+ now.

Now there are only so many turnips you can eat at once. Especially when the weather is as hot as it has been recently. So last night I peeled, diced and boiled a big pan full of them and mashed them up to freeze for future roast dinners when the weather cools down again. However, that still leaves me with about 20 to use. For the moment they are sitting in a bowl in my kitchen but I know that should only really be a short term home for them. I guess my afternoon will have to be spent googling “ways to cook and use up turnip”. One major plus point is that they do have a lovely delicate sweet flavour and I do really adore the taste. And if nothing else this abundance has taught me the importance of planting rows in succession to spread out the harvest!

Leave a Reply

